Chief & Council


Penelakut Tribe has Council elections every four years, which allows for 9 Council members and 1 Chief Council. First, there is a community meeting that gives people the opportunity to nominate potential candidates; furthermore, this list of nominees are used for the election ballots.

Penelakut Tribe had their last election in 2020 and the following Penelakut Community Members are the current elected Council:

  • Chief Joan Brown
  • Mark Brown Sr.
  • Roger Charlie
  • Sharon Cross
  • Denny Jack
  • Pam Jack
  • Joshua James
  • Freddy Mitchell Jr.
  • Mike Sam
  • Ken Thomas